Write-a-thon: Springtime 2014 Edition

It finally feels and looks like Spring outside, so what better way to celebrate that by staying cooped up in my room to write all the words in the world? Despite staying up waaay too late last night watching Orphan Black, I’m up on this fine Saturday morning for another write-a-thon. I’m joined by Jen, Angel, Christa, and Candice.

My current word count for Verona Horse Mermaid (yesss, my main focus right now is my time traveling spies story! More on that later…) is 45 124 words. I’m aiming to hit 50K. We’ll see how it goes. Right now I’ve got a banana, a cheesestring, a cup of green tea, AND an iced coffee. I am ready. LET’S DO THIS.

10:46 AM – *Mario Kart sound effects* GO! 45 124

12:30 PM – I’m not much of a traditional coffee drinker, but it’s like I go insane when that coffee is on ice. Anyway, I’ve got 1000 words secured (yays), so I’ll take a brief moment to update this blog about VHM… which is actually now called ETERNITY CHASERS. 😀 I finally came up with a title… in January, maybe? I’ve still been referring to it as Verona Horse Mermaid because I have attachment issues, but yup it has an official title now!  Also, because it’s about time travel and there’s no way I could keep this limited to one novel-length story, I will most definitely be writing two more novel-length pieces about these characters and the whole dealio. That I’ve always known and have a title for, but I don’t think I ever shared it. Although “Eternity Chasers” does sound like a good ~series title, I’ve always known I wanted to go with THE TIMESHADE CHRONICLES. I really like the word chronicle and I think it’s appropriate since this is about time travel and whatnot. Hooray for titles! *edits tags* Aaand back to writing. 46 174

2:06 PM – So I was just in the midst of writing this somewhat dramatic scene between one of the protagonists and a potential love interest and BOOM, the Star Wars main theme song comes up on my playlist. Talk about a mood killer, ahahaha. 46 973

3:30 PM – I didn’t plan on writing this one important scene today, but it happened. And now my brain is all AHHHH from it. So I think I will take this opportunity to take a break from writing to go for a run. 47 804

9:02 PM – Back from all miscellaneous duties and errands! Aaand since my SPACE channel stream for Orphan Black episodes seems to be lagging, I guess that’s a sign I should resume writing. Just about 2100 more words to today’s goal. 48 001

9:58 PM – One of my favourite types of scenes to write are ones that occur midway and on in the story when characters who don’t know each other are beyond the whole initial first meeting. Like scenes with several individuals interacting and all of their personalities coming through. Just as much as I adore reading about bands of characters being awesome together, I also really enjoy writing about bands of characters interacting whether it’s in a social setting or in a predicament. The scene I just wrote is one of those scenes and I know it’s super lame to say this, but I just really love these characters and am so glad to be back to writing about them, as well as ~discovering who they are. 48 880

11:49 PM – It’s nearly midnight and I just hit 50K! I was actually starting to drift off a little, so thankfully I reached my goal before my brain burnt out for the day. 50 038

STARTING WORD COUNT: 45 124

CURRENT WORD COUNT: 50 038

WORDS WRITTEN TODAY: 4914

It’s been a while since I’ve devoted an entire day (more or less) to writing, and I have to say, I definitely miss it. Damn you, work and RL things. My word count goal for this WiP is about 80K (because I know when I start editing my first draft, I’m going to end up adding stuff. It never fails to happen.), so I’m more than halfway there and ahhhhh so excited about that.

Until next time…

2 Comments on “Write-a-thon: Springtime 2014 Edition”

  1. […] joined today by Lindsey Allyson, Angel of Mermaid Vision Books, Christa of More Than Just Magic, and Candice of The Grown-up YA. I […]

  2. […] Pingback: Write-a-thon: Springtime 2014 Edition | allysonwonderland […]


Leave a Reply

