Come January, we’re frozen inside. Or: It’s cold, but at least it’s something to write about.

First off, I guess I shall start with HAPPY NEW YEAR.

I honestly feel like I am already halfway through 2014 because so much has happened in the past three weeks. Before you fall off your seats in anticipation for a highly dramatized and detailed telling of my life, I sadly have to admit that it’s nowhere near anything exciting. In fact, it’s more like, “Oh my gosh, every clinic in the world wants to order catheters so I must constantly be wearing this lab coat and overseeing these demands!” Between that, tutoring my cousin on the weekends, and general life chores, I’m definitely feeling like these days are 50 hours long.

But what’s this? I actually do have something awesome to blog about! Three awesome things, actually.

1) My CP/fellow dauntless baby/Floridian friend/pesto aioli enthusiast Jennifer Ellision is publishing her debut novel in May! I feel like a broken record, but I am sooooooo excited for her. Her novel, THREATS OF SKY AND SEA, is awesome. I’m so proud of her dauntlessness and I cannot wait for this book to find its way to various shelves and e-book readers because it is so wonderfully good and deserves to be read by the world. She blogged about the whole decision to self-publish and all other relevant details over at her blog Speaking Jenerally which you can read about here. You can also add her novel on Goodreads! DO IT. DO IT NAO.

2. Just like a good chunk of the characters in GRRM’s A Storm of Swords, my book blog A Storm of Words is now…out of commission. Well, sort of. The site still exists, but I’ve moved onto greener pastures. I’m sad because I still completely adore that blog name and there were many goodtimes had at ASoW, but I’m also relieved and happy. While I enjoy discussing and writing about books, actual book blogging was starting to become… not so fun. The rest of the bevy of dauntless felt the same. Our solution? To combine forces. So we started a new book blog together! It’s already been absolute funtimes and I already feel so much more relaxed. Appropriately named, our book blog is The Bevy Bibliothèque.

3. My short story in Inaccurate Realities is out… today! The fact that people I don’t know will be reading my non-blogging/review/news article writing is just plain scary, but also exciting. I can’t wait to read the rest of the stories in the issue, as well as the interviews with the authors of time-traveling novels. You can find all of the info you need to know about purchasing the issue over on their website here. It’s available in book format, e-book, and pdf. You can also add the issue on Goodreads. 🙂

So those are the bright beacons of light in this otherwise cold month of January. I’m still not over the fact that FROST QUAKES occurred due to the coldness. I’m also still not over the fact that we actually reached -40. I know this is Canada, but come onnn. Anyway, yay to writing-related milestones for myself and my friends!

Leave a Reply

