Lost The Battle. Or: What I Did in November Instead.

It’s just like John Lennon sang: I’M A LOSER.

But really, am I? No, she said, answering her own question. Although I may not have hit that 50K mark within these thirty days of November, I was able to do a whole bunch of other stuff. Since I love lists, here is one of my mini, albeit significant achievements:

1. Doctor Who marathons. This started back in September, but basically with the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who on November 23rd, SPACE channel aired marathons and specials every weekend. That’s basically what I did on Sundays, the day I usually reserve for write-a-thons. I would always have my laptop with me, but my eyes were glued to the television screen instead. It was cool because my mom and I were able to ~bond over these marathons and I got to rewatch some of my favourite episodes and relive some nightmares, too (ANGELS. DOLLS. UGH…)

2. Sailor Moon marathons. This was also a thing that I did in November. This might also be a thing I am still doing in December.

3. I wrote a short story. Okay, so here’s probably the biggest item on this list. In November, I spent a good week brainstorming, writing, and revising a short story to submit to Inaccurate Realities. That totally paid off because said short story was selected for the upcoming issue in January. Yay! More details about that and the other stories featured in the issue can be found here. I’m sooooo so excited. While it is beyond awesome that my story is going to be in print, I’m also just really ~in like~ with the story I wrote. I remember finishing it and telling myself that even if it wasn’t chosen for publication, it didn’t matter because I was just glad I wrote it. Now I’m also glad (and nervous) that I’ll get to share this story …with the world.

4. Catching Fire! I saw Catching Fire and it was AMAZING. I mean, there are some casting choices that I’m still side-eyeing, but I was so impressed by the film. Jennifer Lawrence… I didn’t think she could amaze me further, but dang. I also saw Thor 2 early in the month and that film was also super exciting and entertaining. In addition, trailers for Divergent and Vampire Academy. YES PLEASE AND THANK YOU.

5. The Fiery Heart. One of my most anticipated novels of the year was released in November. Much of the month was spent freaking out over the book’s arrival, freaking out over Amazon not delivering the Kindle version to me (AGAIN), and finally reading the book and freaking out about that. Of course, the book was A+++. Another great book I read in November was Susan Dennard’s “Something Strange and Deadly.” Such a refreshingly enjoyable read with an amazing protagonist and cool setting.

6. Agents of SHIELD and Reign a.k.a. the two shows I’ve become addicted to this fall season. It’s been a whiiiile since I’ve had a “regular” show that I’d watch each week, so to have two of them is a Big Deal. Funnily enough, these two shows get so much flack for being “boring” or “inaccurate” or “pointless,” but WHATEVER. They’re fun.

7. Disney’s Aladdin: The Musical. Toronto is super lucky to get the pre-Broadway run of Disney’s Aladdin musical, and my sisters and I saw a performance just a few days ago. It was MAGICAL. I swear, I couldn’t breathe from some of the Genie’s scenes, especially “Friend Like Me” because I was shaking with laughter. Overall, it was an enjoyable production and I will definitely be picking up the OBCR next year. And Jafar voice actor IRL…playing Jafar. I’ll never get over this fact.

8. 25K of The Neverland Cure. Right. So firstly, I did come up with an actual title for my Neverland Remix story and it’s THE NEVERLAND CURE (although I still like THE NEVERLAND REMEDY. I’m undecided). Secondly, while I didn’t hit the 50K mark, I did make it halfway which I think is a pretty dang good feat considering I spent a total of three days writing. Yes. It’s time for a confession: I only dedicated three days to writing this particular story. No wonder I failed at 50K, right? I don’t even really know if I can label myself as a participant in NaNoWriMo this year because I didn’t slave over my word count every day. I think that’s a blessing in disguise, though. A different year, a different experience.

Some of my non-Nano writing occurred because of inevitable procrastination. Fortunately, I procrastinated by writing the short story mentioned in #3. That definitely makes this one of those bright side/silver lining situations. I am sure there is also a lesson in here somewhere about just going with your instincts. I knew that I should’ve been working on TNC/TNR, but a voice kept urging me to work on the short story instead. I listened to that voice and fortunately, it paid off. 😀

I’m still in deep like with this work in progress and I will probably continue to add to its word count every now and then. Although I wasn’t able to actually write the story, I did make several notes on my phone throughout the month. SO NEVERLAND, I WILL BE BACK.

And so, the moral of the story: I did not win NaNoWriMo this year, but what I did instead was pretty worthwhile. You win some, you lose some. Except, sometimes you also win when you lose. Or something like that.

Hi, December! 😐

2 Comments on “Lost The Battle. Or: What I Did in November Instead.”

  1. That sounds like a perfectly good November to me 😀 Congrats on starting your novel!

  2. […] Lost The Battle. Or: What I Did in November Instead. (allysonwonderland) […]


Leave a Reply

