Write-a-thon: NaNoWriMo 2012 Edition, THE SEQUEL

And here we are again. It’s the last Saturday of November and time for another NaNoWriMo write-a-thon. I actually haven’t touched my novel in 5 days. The first reason being that I didn’t want to get ahead of myself and finish the 50K in less than three weeks. I mean, the point is to write a novel in a month, not in three weeks, right? So I decided to leave the story alone for a bit. Sometimes it’s good to do that, which is my second reason. Taking a step back from what I’ve been writing allowed me to just ruminate on it all for a while and let what I’ve written soak in. Now, however, it’s time to get back on this train. Today’s goal, more or less, is to hit 50K. The story is pretty much finished save a few transitions, so today is all about sewing it up into a completed product…

In related news, I think I came up with the title. I’ve been using The Autumn List as a proxy since that’s literally what the story is about – a list and it’s Autumn. While crossing the stupid Confederation bridge last Saturday on my way to Starbucks, I was in a panicked state because I despise walking over bridges, so I just kept chanting to myself, “don’t be scared. don’t be scared. DON’T BE SCARED.” Then I started playing around with the wording of my self-assuring motto and eventually ended up telling myself “fear not the fall.” And then, it hit me. Fear Not The Fall is my perfect title. First of all, HELLO WORDPLAY. Second of all, the slight alliteration (I’m a huuuge fan of alliteration, let this be known). Third, it has more than one meaning and can be interpreted differently for my characters. So yeaaah. It’s still way early in the game, but for now this title is a keeper. Side note: the other title that popped into my mind that was sooo close to replacing the proxy one was The Infinite Fall. I’m still kind of attached to it, but I think I like the other one just a bit more.

Anywho, as is becoming tradition, today I am joined by Jen. Also accompanying us is Christa. ALRIGHT. Enough chatter. Let the writing begin.

10:33 – Smoothie concoction has been poured into my cup and yes, let’s do this. 45 547

11:35 – Transitions are the wooorst. It’s like, JUST TELEPORT INTO THE NEXT HOUR/LOCATION ALREADY. Oh, the trials of writing a contemp. Everything must happen AS HUMANLY AS POSSIBLE. I guess I could always make my characters drug addicts or narcoleptics to explain random skips in time? Hahaha, no… 46 502

12:30 – I’m currently adding to the ~first meeting scene~ of my two main characters and Taylor Swift’s Enchanted just came up on my playlist. Appropriate? VERY MUCH SO <333 Granted, their meeting is not nearly as sappy as what's portrayed in Taylor's song, but still. STILL. 47 544

1:37 – There is this …conversation of sorts that I need to write and this one and another are basically the only remaining ~huge scenes left of the story. And I’ve been avoiding them both for a while. Also, the sun is blazing in my eye and I feel like I can’t write DRAMA when it’s so bright outside. Hmm. 48 020

1:43 – RANDOM FACT TIME: One of my character’s last names is a variation of the last names of one of the members of One Direction. I didn’t realize this until after I’d already chosen and become attached to it. I didn’t choose it because of said member, but I am just amused by this fact. That is all. 48 020

2:53 – Oh my frak, I have less than 1000 words to go and basically, this is the other INTENSE scene. I’m kind of winging this scene because I only brainstormed how it would go down literally thirty seconds ago. I think right now Jen and Christa are also in the midst of writing some very intense, dramatic important scenes for their novels xD. Anyway, (late) lunch time and then back to business. AHHHH. 49 025

5:13 – Friends, romans, countrymen, lend me your ears. I HAVE HIT 50K. And now I’m going to go dance. Literally. Like I’m going to go play Just Dance 4 because oh my goshhhhhhhh I DID IT. 50 292

6:08 – Alright. So yes, I did it! AHHH. I can see myself attempting to tweak stuff and whatever, but I’m saving this as it is right now in a file to be stored away as my first NaNoWriMo endeavour. At the end of November, I’m going to do a whole REFLECTION post because oh, there is much to reflect on.

I will end this post with a picture of my face after I finished writing 50K. Actually, it’s a picture me after I played Just Dance 4 which is what I did after finish because I had so much ENERGY. I would like to title this photo: “Here is the face of November.”

PS. Jen has also met her goal for the night (fyeah!) and Christa is still going, but she’s totally killing it… (SHE IS ACTUALLY KILLING OFF HER CHARACTERS)

And I’m now off to a tree lighting shindig, so FARE THEE WELL~

9 Comments on “Write-a-thon: NaNoWriMo 2012 Edition, THE SEQUEL”

  1. I LIKE THIS TITLE. A LOT. You are very good with titles methinks as I also really like your ~other one.

    • Lindsey says:

      Hahaha, thanks! 🙂 On the note of titles, may it be known to you that every time I say the word APPARENT, I kind of do this weird pause thing and for one flashing moment in my mind I’m like, “ZOMG JEN’S NOVEL.” And in my mind the word is capitalized now xD

  2. I love your title! and I can’t believe you’re going to finish today! You are a superstar

    • Lindsey says:

      Thank you! And yeah, you guys are all totally my inspirations which makes you all superstars as well. I am glad I decided to follow in all of your footsteps and join this month, hahaha.

  3. Eeeee! Please know that I have been consistently refreshing your blog to see this moment haha

    • Lindsey says:

      And I will be constantly refreshing yours until I gaze upon your victory! Or rather, I’ll just anxiously await the moment when you tweet that you’ve conquered it xD


Leave a Reply

