My brain might explode in November. Or: NaNoWriMo 2012

Yup. Tomorrow is November. What?! That means …NaNoWriMo. Do you know the first thing that pops into my mind when I someone says “NaNoWriMo”? It’s this:

(click the photo for the image credit and A RECIPE)

In case you have no idea what that is, it’s a nanaimo bar. Supposedly it’s some Canadian specialty, but to me it’s just one of the rare chocolate desserts that I’ll actually eat. My chocolate preferences are not what’s important right now, however. What’s important is that I’ve never really officially participated in this event. NaNoWriMo, I mean. Not a nanaimo event, though I’m sure somewhere in the great white north, they do exist. The reason for not participating? Every year on whatever various social media I frequent, someone (or several people) will obsessively or annoyingly NOT SHUT UP ABOUT IT. Needless to say, it’s always been a major turn-off. Throughout high school and university, I was constantly surrounded by people who were all, “Oh, I’m a writer. I’m working on a novel and I’m going to get it published. No, Lindsey, I don’t want to write for your lame newspaper or join your writing club because I’m clearly too cool for that, but still, writing is totally my passion. By the way, did I also mention I’m reading the CLASSIC NOVEL by Charles Dickens because I’m so into literature and writing. BLAH BLAH BLAH.“* Most of those people were all talk, no action. Or should I say “all talk, no writing.” So I stayed away. And for the record, my writing club was awesome.

To be completely honest, I’m still not even sure how I feel about NaNo. It should be quality over quantity, right? Just because I’m able to write 50K+ doesn’t mean that I’ve written a publishable novel. Likewise, I might only write 20K in a month, but be on the verge of something AMAZING. …But just like everything else in the whole dang universe, I feel I can’t really judge or say since I’ve never officially participated. That’s why I’ve signed up for this year. I suppose it could be said that next month is an experiment. I want to know if I can do it and I want to know if I like it. More importantly, I also want to know what happens next. Am I going to learn anything from this? Will I be a ~better writer on December 1st than I was on October 31st? DO I REALLY HAVE 8K/day SUPER POWERS? (I’ve officially been sorted in Slytherin, but apparently my Ravenclaw is still showing.)

My current WiP Verona Horse Mermaid (not the actual title, of course) is just under 30K at the moment. I wanted to just work on that for NaNo, but then I thought to myself …NO. I want to start an entirely new story from scratch. Once I make a drastic decision like that, I kind of force myself to keep it because I don’t like declaring stuff only to take it back. So yeah. My story this month will be a contemporary one. I don’t want to say it’s YA because I want the characters to be slightly older. We’ll see what happens.

So yes. There you go. My NaNo profile can be found here and I’m sure sporadic tweets will also appear on the subject. Thankfully I have friends who totally don’t annoy me when they talk about writing who are also participating this year. So basically, it’s going to be like a party. Hopefully. We’ve already got another writeathon date planned~ This is going to be interesting…

*Clearly I still have much pent up aggression from my teenage years. xD

Leave a Reply

